4th Test: India thump Australia by 8 wickets in Dharamsala, seal series 2-1

Dharamsala, March 28: India thrashed Australia by 8 wickets in the fourth Test in Dharamsala Test to clinch series 2-1 and reclaim the Border Gavaskar Trophy on Tuesday (March 28).

Chasing a paltry target of 106 runs, the hosts lost two wickets of Murali Vijay and Cheteshwar Pujara but reached home comfortably in 23.5 overs at the Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association (HPCA) stadium.

KL Rahul slammed another fine half century and remained unbeaten at 51, while stand-in captain Ajinkya Rahane played a whirlwind innings of 38* off 27 balls.

India needed another 87 runs to win the deciding fourth final Test when they resumed batting on fourth day.
Vijay (6) and Lokesh Rahul (13) started the hosts response on day 4.

However, Vijay was unlucky to get dismissed by Pat Cummins after adding just 2 more runs to his account.

The second most consistent Indian batsman Cheteshwar Pujara was the second Indian wicket to fall. He couldn’t even open his account as miscommunication between him and KL Rahul cost him his wicket. Pujara got run out by a direct hit from Maxwell.

Australia on the other hand tried to keep things tight for the hosts and not let them score easily.

Earlier, India bundled out Australia for 137 runs in their second innings to set a 106-run target for clinching the final cricket Test match.

The Indian bowlers rampaged through the Australian batting lineup with pacer Umesh Yadav and the spin duo of Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja scalpng three wickets each while medium-pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar took one wicket.

Earlier, India ended their first innings at 332 — taking a 32-run lead — in reply to the visitors’ first innings outing score of 300.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *